2014 Oscars – My random guesses

It’s that time of year again for me to present my guesses on who will win what Oscar. I didn’t do so well last year, which was a disappointment because the first year I did this (not posted on here) I nailed almost all of them. Once again, this is just for fun, and I’ve only seen 2 of the nominated movies so this is pretty much just guesswork, and not a lot of “Well I liked it so I think it should win.”

So here we go:

Best Picture: Hmmm, tough. Tough tough tough. 12 Years a Slave is a good pick, usually films about darker moments in world history and someone trying to overcome do pretty well. A lot of good reception for American Hustle and Captain Phillips and Dallas Buyers Club, though.
Hm, yeah, I’m going with 12 Years a Slave as first choice, second guess is Dallas Buyers Club.

Best Actor: Surprising nom for Matthew “Well all right all right” McConaughey in this category. My money’s on Bruce Dern, though, for no particular reason. I know everyone wants Leo DiCaprio to win, but, eh.

Supporting Actor: Also some noms you don’t normally see… Tough call. I’m going with Bradley Cooper for American Hustle first, and Barkhad Abdi for Captain Phillips second. Cuz I don’t know about the other three.

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, Judi Dench, AND Meryl Streep, all nominated at once? Ouch. They can’t all tie, can they? No? I’m going with Sandra Bullock, though. I think she won the Golden Globe for her role in Gravity, and while that doesn’t mean everything, I feel like probably this would be a case where everyone gets so split between three nominees that it leaves another one with a ton of votes.

Supporting Actress: 3 people I’ve never heard of. Hm. I don’t know why, but I’m going with Sally Hawkins for Blue Jasmine. Never heard of her, never heard anything about the film, but it sounds good to me.

Best Animated Feature: Surprisingly, no nomination for Monsters University. I thought that was a good film – even though it was a prequel, it had a lot of good, unexpected moments, and I liked the message “Sometimes, you’ll find that you’re just not good at something you want to do, and that sucks, but you can find something else that you’re better at.” I mean, what a perfect message just in general, but especially for college-age kids.

Anyway it didn’t get nominated, so that’s sad. I’ve never heard of one of the noms – “Ernest & Celestine”, I’m guessing it’s French. But I’m putting all my money (figuratively – I haven’t found a place to bet on nominations yet) on Frozen. The animation was good, the story was great – I’ve never been in a theater full of kids before where every single person in the theater was quiet the entire time, other than some outbursts at a certain plot twist. I liked Despicable Me 2, but I don’t think it or The Croods have enough in them to beat out Frozen or the Studio Ghibli movie (which is about planes? I think?)

Cinematography: I’m always terrible at this category, but I’m… oooh I was going to go with Inside Llewyn Davis since it’s set in the 60s and looks like it was filmed then, but then I saw Gravity was also nominated… hrm… Nah, I’m going with “Inside Llewyn Davis”.

Costume Design: Aargh. Okay of course all the noms are period pieces, so that’s no help. American Hustle takes place in the 70s so I don’t know about that one – I mean, you can just go out and buy already-made clothing from the 70s so it’s not that big of an achievement I think to make good 70s clothes. Plus there’s still plenty of people who were alive in the 1970s who could give you advice, or photos, or whatever. I’m going to go with The Great Gatsby. I never saw that movie (well, not this version, just the Mia Farrow one), but I know it was all like “EXTRAVAGANCE, OLD SPORT”. Second guess… The Invisible Woman.

Directing: Aaargh again. I’m going with Gravity, though. I think it probably takes a good director to get a film with a cast of two where they’re just hanging out in front of a green screen for 2 hours to be a good movie.

Documentary Feature: Just like last year, I have heard of zero of these documentaries. Only one of them this year has “nominees to be determined” listed where the director/producer/whatever credit goes, so that’s nice. “The Square” sounds good. I’ll go with that.

Short Documentary: And again, I’ve never heard of these. “Cavedigger” sounds cool. I’ll go with that.

Editing: Ugh. American Hustle, just because.

Foreign Language Film: I have no idea. “The Great Beauty” sounds good.

Makeup and Hairstyling: Only 3 noms, and surprisingly not including two films I thought would be on there (American Hustle and the second Hobbit movie – I mean, it got nominated last year and it’s not like the hair is any different. Or is that the problem? It shouldn’t be, the films take place within like a day of each other).

Also a surprising nom for Jacka-I’m-trying-not-to-use-profanity-on-this-blog-ss: Bad Grandpa, although I’ve seen the makeup for the grandpa and it is well done. I’m going to go with Dallas Buyers Club, though. I can’t really see the one other nom, The Lone Ranger, winning.

Original Score: Well I’ll just leave what I said last year here: “Having heard none of the music for the nominees, well… I think Thomas Newman did the music for at least one Pixar film, and then of course there’s John Williams who you make know better as the guy who did the music for Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Jaws, the first few Harry Potter movies, and many many other iconic themes. But…” I’m going with Philomena. Seems like it probably had a good score.

Original Song: Going with “Let It Go” from Frozen. Just, dang Idina Menzel, way to sing! I know something from some Nelson Mandela thing won the Golden Globe, but, again, that doesn’t matter here.

Production Design: Ooof. 3 period pieces, one movie set in the not-too-distant-future, and one set in space. I’ll go with American Hustle, though, because everyone seems to like it. I guess.

Short Film (animated): I have heard only of “Get a Horse!”, it being the short featured before Frozen. So I’ll just go with that.

Short Film (live action): Errgh… I don’t know, blind guessing here I’ll go with “Avant Que de Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything)” because… French?

Sound Editing: Finally we start to see The Hobbit get nominated for something. But I hate this category. I’m still not sure what the difference between it and sound mixing is, and usually the two categories share at least 3 nominees. I’ll pick Captain Phillips because I haven’t really been picking it for anything else. That’s a stupid reason, but, eh.

Sound Mixing: Ehhhh. I’m going with either Gravity or Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug, because those both had to have featured a lot of fictional sound effects. Waait, there’s no sound in the vacuum of space, though…

Visual Effects: Here is The Hobbit’s third and final nomination. Unfortunately it’s also up against Gravity again, as well as Iron Man 3, Star Trek: Into Darkness, and The Lone Ranger. I imagine all of these films have very much earned their nominations. It’s tough – I mean, Iron Man and Star Trek weren’t nominated for anything else, so will people feel bad and vote for them, or will they keep the ball rolling and vote for Gravity once again? Or will they show some massive respect for the killer good job they did on Smaug in The Hobbit? (You know how sometimes you’ll watch an animated movie, and there’ll be this one shot where you’re like “Wait, I thought you said this was animated, not that they pulled in a real live dragon to film with!”?) Hm…

Yeah, I’m going with Smaug on this one. Gravity for second guess.

Adapted Screenplay: Wolf of Wall Street because I didn’t see it winning anything else.

Original Screenplay: Oi, all good choices. Going with Dallas Buyers Club, though.

Sorry for neglecting Her. Obviously my guesses mean nothing, it could win something, but I just… eh.

Also sorry for neglecting this blog. I have a post that’s entirely written up and just needs pictures, that I wrote two months ago, but have never gotten around to finishing for some reason. Also I was going to make a series of 12 lists counting down to Christmas about my favorite media-related Christmas things, but I never did that either. Sorry. ;_;

Leave a Reply

