Winners 2014

So how’d my random Oscar picks shape up this year? My favorite part of this is how the names of the categories on the Academy website for the nominations don’t match the names of the categories when the winners are announced, so there’s a lot of “Well, this is sort-of similar-sounding, I guess…”

 

Best Picture: We start/end well (this is the first category in the nominees list, but the last category announced in the actual show). My pick of 12 Years a Slave took home the statue! I’ve never seen it, so I don’t really have anything to say, except that Hollywood is pretty easy to read when it comes to picking the Best Picture winner.

Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey took the surprise nom into a (surprise?) win over my completely random pick of Bruce Dern. Secretly I’m happy Leo DiCaprio didn’t win, because I hate him and the huge number of fans he has annoys me.

Supporting Actor: I went with Bradley Cooper for no real reason, but Jared Leto won.

Best Actress: Pfft the one category Gravity DOESN’T win in… Cate Blanchett took it. Like I said, this was a tough category, it was all really great actresses. Sandra Bullock can go cry into the Golden Globe she won. Or the hugely valuable consolation prizes non-winning Oscar nominees apparently receive.

Supporting Actress: I picked Sally Hawkins, but Lupita Nyong’o won. I’ve never heard of either before, but everyone was rooting for Lupita, so good job.

Best Animated Feature: My pick of Frozen was correct. Honestly, was anyone surprised? Aside from the small number of people who hate the movie because other people liked it?

Cinematography: I picked “Inside Llewyn Davis” because period pieces tend to do well here, but Gravity won. Gravity was a close second in my picks, though. I think Gravity actually just won the Oscars. Like the whole thing. Every category. Even ones it wasn’t nominated in.

Costume Design: My guess of Great Gatsby due to the “AAGH EXTRAVAGANCE” turned out to be correct.

Directing: Wooo I got this one right! Gravity took it.

Documentary Feature: “20 Feet From Stardom” beat out my guess of The Square.

Short Documentary: I was wrong. Went with Cavedigger, and something with a really long name won instead. Oh well. Once more, I’d never heard of any of them anyway.

Editing: Gravity won. I was wrong. I wasn’t all that into this category anyway (my reasoning for picking American Hustle was “just because”).

Foreign Language Film: I got this one right! “The Great Beauty” won. I picked it entirely because the title sounded nice.

Makeup and Hairstyling: My pick, Dallas Buyers Club, won.

Original Score: Oof, Gravity won THIS one too. I was wrong – I picked Philomena, for no real reason.

Original Song: “Let It Go” won, and I was right.

Production Design: This was a tough one to pick, and I ended up picking the wrong period piece – Great Gatsby won over my pick of American Hustle.

Short Film (animated): Mr. Hublot won. I had only see “Get a Horse” out of the nominees – actually had never even HEARD of the other nominees – so I’m not too beaten up.

Short Film (live action): Helium won. I was wrong. I didn’t know anything about any of the nominees, so oh well.

Sound Editing: Gravity won here. I picked Captain Philips just because I hadn’t picked it for anything else.

Sound Mixing: Gravity won here too. I picked Gravity as a tie with Smaug, despite my “Wait, there’s no sound in space” comment.

Visual Effects: Gravity, my second guess won. I am not surprised and I do believe it deserved it, but… Man, the animation for Smaug in The Hobbit deserved SOME kind of award. He looked like a REAL DRAGON in some shots. Also all the smoke and fire effects were spectacular as well. But oh well.

Adapted Screenplay: 12 Years a Slave won. I didn’t have much of an opinion no who would this, so I’m not too beat up about being wrong.

Original Screenplay: Her won, I was wrong. Again, didn’t have much an opinion here.

 

Yeesh. I only got 8 right. Out of like 24 categories. I think maybe if I had done my picks a little closer to the ceremony, I would’ve done better. I’m glad I didn’t bet on anything this year, though. Animated feature and Original Song were the only ones I would’ve put money on.

Now we just have to wait and see how many of these winners are still remembered in 10, 20 years from now (one thing we should all remember, though – just because it’s memorable, doesn’t mean it’s good, and just because it’s good doesn’t make it memorable). I did enjoy all 4 movies I saw in theaters last year (actually I think I saw two of them this year, technically), and that’s all that matters.

Like I said earlier, everyone who lost can cry into their consolation packages that could easily pay off at least some of my student loans.

But congratulations to every single person who worked their butts off doing something they love, even if you didn’t win, even if you weren’t even nominated.

And congratulations to me on the off-chance any Oscar-nominated person actually made it to this blog and enjoyed it!

One of these days I’ll post a new Boy Meets World review, but today is not that day.

Leave a Reply

