100th Post!

Aw man so apparently this is my 100th post. Wow.

I wish I had something planned. Like maybe for my 200th post I’ll try keeping a record of my favorite lines, episodes, jokes, screenshots, or something. But for #100, I don’t have anything like that prepared.

So… here’s a meme I stole off tumblr. It unfortunately doesn’t have 100 questions, and it’s about movies rather than television. What a terrible celebration post! Small bonus at the end, though.

  1. A movie you’ve seen most times in cinema.
    Ehh there’s a bunch of movies I’ve seen twice in theaters. Frozen, Hairspray, and Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix spring to mind. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen any movie more than twice in theaters…
  2. Your most rewatched movie.
    The Lion King, maybe? I mean I was a wee tyke when Beauty and the Beast and The Lion King and Aladdin were first out on VHS and those were all my JAMS as a kid. But I remember when we first moved to North Carolina, I think we didn’t have any tv antennas for a while, so I watched The Lion King every day for a week. I knew all the dialog by heart.
  3. A movie you quote on a daily basis.
    For some reason I keep thinking “Excuse me sir, he is a prince” from Frozen even though that has literally never been a proper response for any situation I’ve been in.
  4. Favorite movie soundtrack.
    OH GOD DON’T MAKE ME CHOOSE. I guess I could say the Harry Potter and the Sorceror’s Stone soundtrack. I listened to it on its own a couple years ago, and I could feel the movie and just instantly knew the scene and the dialog that went along with the music. Just listening to the soundtrack on its own evokes some… feelings.
  5. Top 5 films of your favorite actor and actress. Ermm I don’t have a favorite actor or actress. So, no.
  6. Top 5 performances of your favorite actor and actress.
    I answered this question on tumblr I think, or a similar one that was about “top 5 performances from actors”. I went with Johnny Depp in the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise because come on, Orlando Bloom in the Lord of the Rings series because of his ability to say more with a facial expression than with any dialog, Cary Elwes in Robin Hood Men In Tights for the wole reason that I thought Cary Elwes was an American good at doing British accents when it turns out he is in fact British, aaand I forgot who else I said. Oh well.
  7. A movie storyline you wish you had actually lived.
    Beauty and the Beast, maybe? I mean I hate how the prince looks, but did you see that huge library? Plus, he’s rich. I am a shallow person, haha.
  8. A movie that reminds you of your mom.
    “Mamma Mia” just because she watches it a lot.
  9. A movie that reminds you of your dad.
    My dad is a deadbeat.
  10. Favorite movies from your childhood.
    The Lion King, Beauty and the Beast, and The Land Before Time.
  11. Favorite quote(s).
    I am fond of the use of the word “Savvy?” from Pirates of the Caribbean. That is where half of this blog name comes from.
  12. Top 5 favorite female performances. Anjelica Huston in literally anything, Jennifer Elise Cox as Jan Brady in “The Brady Bunch Movie” and “A Very Brady Sequel”, Amy Adams in “Enchanted”, ummm… I guess I an only think of three.
  13. Top 5 favorite male performances. Oh this is the question I answered on tumblr before, not #6. Oh well.
  14. Favorite year for movies.
    2007?
  15. Your favorite movies from [insert year].
    The movies in [insert year] are all really overrated, but I did really like [insert movie title]
  16. Favorite [insert actor/actress/director] movies?
    A-ha, see, for this meme, people are meant to send you messages and fill in the bracketed things. I can’t do that as I’m just reposting it here. I have a terrible time picking favorites anyway.
  17. List all you’ve seen from [insert actor/actress/director].  I’ll randomly go with Robin Williams for this one. I have seen Popeye, Mork & Minday, the episode of Faerie Tale Theatre he was in, Hook, FernGully, Aladdin, Toys, Mrs. Doubtfire, To Wong Foo Thanks For Everything Love Julie Newmar which I don’t recall him being in, Jumanji, The Birdcage, the episode of Friends he was in, Flubber, probably the two One Saturday Morning segments he was in, A.I. Artificial Intelligence, Night At the Museum, part of RV, and one episode of The Crazy Ones. Holy crap I think I’ve seen more Robin Williams movies than I’ve seen any other actor’s movies.
  18. An underrated actor.
    Orlando Bloom? Like I said, he’s great at acting with just his face. His line delivery is sometimes not great, but his FACIAL EXPRESSIONS.
  19. An underrated actress.
  20. Fff I don’t know.
  21. An underrated director.
    I don’t know.
  22. An overrated actor.
    Leonardo DiCaprio. For one thing I think there are plenty of better actors out there who deserve Oscars way more than he does. For another I have never found him attractive, even back in 1997.
  23. An overrated actress.
    Well, not so much “overrated” but “oversaturing”, but Jennifer Lawrence. I’m really sick of how she’ll like fart and everyone’s all “OMG JUST LIKE ME. OMG SHE LIKES FOOD WHOA.” but a lot of what she does and says comes off as kind of not genuine to me. I mean how many more times is she going to trip at the Oscars?
  24. An overrated director.
    I dunno.
  25. A film you wish you had seen on the big screen.
    I’m sure the Indiana Jones movies were epic on the big screen. Star Wars movies too.
  26. A movie you’ve seen that you think no one else’s here will have heard of?
    *Puts on hipster glasses* Eh, well… Hm. I don’t exactly sit in the field away from the main stream or anything, but… Ladyhawke? It’s got Rutger Hauer, Michelle Pfeiffer, and a young Matthew Broderick. What’s not to love?
  27. A film that was better than the book.
    Well I haven’t read a lot of books that have movies based on them, and for all the ones I remember, the books were better. Maybe I’ll cheat and go with The Lizzie Bennett Diaries. That’s a web show and not a film, and not a direct adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, but it’s sure easier to watch and understand than the book.
  28. Best remake.
    They aren’t exactly remakes, but the Brady Bunch movies were all awesome. They’re a combination of a straight-up movie version of the show, a parody of the show, and an update to the show, with the Brady family still firmly acting like it’s the 70s meanwhile they’re actually living in the 90s. Most of the humor comes from how ridiculous the Bradys are in contrast to everyone else, and isn’t just about them being stupid or whatever.
  29. Your first favorite actor. :\
  30. Your first favorite actress. /:
  31. Favorite animated film.
    Argh umm well Frozen is still fresh in my mind. My top 5 is definitely Frozen, The Lion King, Aladdin, The Prince of Egypt, and Ratatouille. Maybe.
  32. Your most anticipated films.
    I’m totally psyched for Jersey Boys, a biographical film about the rise of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons directed by Clint Eastwood of all people. And I’m patiently waiting for more news about Moana, an upcoming animated Disney film set in the South Pacific that’ll probably be renamed to “Soggy” or some other adjective.
  33. Last movie that disappointed you.
    Oh gosh, there have been several. The first that springs to mind is “Me and Orson Welles”, which was supposed to be critically praised and whatever but it was so boring I turned it off after 30 minutes. If this question were about television shows I could go on forever.
  34. Last movie that surpassed your expectations.
    Frozen. The ads for the movie made it look like some dumb caper starring an idiotic snowman and his even dumber reindeer sidekick and also there was snow and it just looked like the dumbest movie. But then a lot of people were saying it was good, so I watched it, and it WAS good.
  35. Actor in need of new agent.
    James Marsden.
  36. Actress in need of new agent.
    Ugh I dunno.
  37. Share an unpopular film opinion you have.
    Well I already said the biggest taboos on the planet by revealing that I dislike Leonardo DiCaprio and Jennifer Lawrence, anything I say now will look great by comparison! Ummm I think Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings films are really boring and I love The Hobbit movies because there’s so much action that I don’t feel like falling asleep during them.
  38. Favorite Oscar win/speech.
    Walt Disney eventually just started going to the podium, saying “Thank you” and then leaving. A few times he just takes the Oscar and sits back down. Awesome.
  39. Biggest Oscar snub(s).
    The Muppet Movie’s “Rainbow Connection” losing the Best Song to “It Goes Like It Goes”. Alan Rickman losing in general.
  40. Who do you think is overdue for another nomination/win?
    Alan Rickman? Just let him win a category, he doesn’t even have to be in a movie.
  41. How many movies have you seen (rough estimation)?
    Oh my god what why would you even… I’m going to guess it’s upwards of 300, probably more because there’s no way I remember every movie I’ve ever seen.
  42. A movie that made you go ‘wtf was that’.
    Sucker Punch, in a good way.
  43. A film that scarred you.
    Scarred or scared? Whenever I watch a ghost movie I spent at least the next night freaking out and sleeping in a ball under the covers. I don’t remember if I’ve seen Jaws all the way through, but it’s definitely partly that movie’s fault that I spent a lot of my childhood being terrified that there were sharks in the deep end of the pool, or that if I took a bath, sharks would come up through the bathtub drain somehow. To be fair, I lived in Florida for most of this shark terror, and you do tend to find alligators and whatnot in pools, and once there was actually a frog that came up through our toilet’s pipes, so that fear wasn’t entirely irrational.
  44. Most movies watched in a single day.
    … 5? Sounds about right. Once I did a weird Johnny Depp marathon and ended up talking in a fake British accent the rest of the day.
  45. A film that always makes you cry.
    Well the parents dying in Frozen always stirs me up a bit. The whole three times I’ve seen that movie.
  46. A film that always makes you laugh.
    Robin Hood: Men in Tights
  47. Movies that you think everyone should watch (not necessarily your favorites).
    I don’t know, Schindler’s List? I haven’t seen that movie but I feel like I should.
  48. A movie that took you a couple of viewings to appreciate.
    All the Paranormal Activity movies benefit from a second viewing, because once you know to look for certain scary things, you end up finding even more.
  49. A book you want to see adapted to the big screen.
    Anything by Diana Wynne Jones. I mean her Chrestomanci Series might lend itself better to a short-season tv series than a movie. Howl’s Moving Castle and its sequels might make for a good tv series as well. I know Howl’s Moving Castle was already turned into an animated movie, which was beautiful, but it changed a lot of stuff (for instance, Markle/Michael is 15 in the books rather than approximately 6, and he has a crush on one of Sophie’s two sisters). Plus it has sequels. The Dalemark Quartet would be awesome as a movie series, although given that one book is a very long ago-set prequel and the other book starts like 200 years in the future, that might be kind of hard to deal with.
  50. A book you really, really, really don’t want to see made into a film.
    …Don’t have one? All the books I read I want to see adapted to a movie or tv show, unless I don’t care about the book at all.
  51. Favorite child performance.
    Gawd why can’t I remember any of the movies I’ve seen? There was one movie that had a child actor in it who was the most convincing kid I’ve ever seen, but it seems I can’t remember what movie or actor it was.
  52. Favorite pre-code.
    I have seen a grand total of zero pre-code movies.
  53. Favorite silent film.
    The only silent films I’ve seen are Nosferatu and Chicago, and I hated them both.
  54. Favorite coming of age film.
    Haha, I don’t know, “Carrie”? That movie’s about transitioning to adulthood and learning to deal with puberty, right?
  55. Favorite superhero film.
    Don’t tell anyone, but I like the Sam Raimi Spider-Man movies. Even the third one. I think people are too harsh on the movies, although they probably really would have benefited from less Kristen Dunst.
  56. Best cinematography.
    Eh.. Fiddler on the Roof? It won an Oscar for its cinematography I think.
  57. Movies you know you should watch, but can’t bring yourself to do it?
    Citizen Kane. I know it’s like the most classic of all classic movies, but it just looks so boring. I also feel like I should watch Platoon and Schindler’s List but I haven’t found the right time to sit down and watch those movies yet – I don’t want to do it when I’m too happy because of all the mood whiplash it’ll give me, but I also don’t want to wait until I’m really sad because I mean “Life Is Beautiful” was depressing enough, I feel like those other films might make me want to kill myself or something.
  58. Favorite genres.
    I used to think I was a total comedy fan, but then I realized the proportion of how many straight-up comedy movies I enjoy to how many comedy movies exist is a pretty small one, and I think I actually enjoy Adventure films in some capacity (like Comedy-Adventure, Fantasy-Adventure) more. I also love musicals, but I consider musicals to be a medium rather than a genre, because it’s ridiculous to say that The Rocky Horror Picture Show, Sweeney Todd, Repo! The Genetic Opera, Bye Bye Birdie, and Hairspray are all the same genre. It’s essentially like saying Psycho and any Doris Day movie are the same genre.
  59. Least favorite genres.
    Slasher/gore/splatter/etc. I don’t mind a little blood and guts in my movies, but I don’t like it being so excessive and disgusting. That’s what’s sort of neat about Sweeney Todd, and I suppose Sleepy Hollow – the blood is so weirdly hued and saturated versus how desaturated everything else is, it makes it look kind of fantastical and even though there’s a lot of blood, it’s not that gross to look at.
  60. Biggest movie pet peeve.
    Ehhh I hate it when characters get information wrong so you’re not sure if the character or the crew is stupid. This is also a tv pet peeve – I mentioned in a Glee recap that Rachel says she relates to Natalie Wood because she was also Jewish, even though Natalie Wood was Russian Orthodox Christian, so I don’t know if it’s just Rachel getting that wrong or if the writers don’t know how to fact check (I would bet the latter). Also I hate when long credit sequences don’t have an after-credits scene. I know the theater janitors hate that too because it means they have to wait for like 10 minutes for people to leave the theater as they wait for a scene that will never play.

Bonus: How long will it take me to finish reviewing/recapping the shows on here, including this week in the count?

Boy Meets World: 2 years, give or take a week. (episode 58 goes up this week, there’s 158 total episodes, 52 weeks in a year)

Glee: 106 weeks at current episode count. The last season has yet to air, but it’s likely it will only have 13 episodes. In that case, about 120 weeks, or 2 years and almost 4 months.

Degrassi: Again, the show hasn’t ended yet. There’s just over 400 episodes at the time of writing, from Degrassi Junior High to Degrassi: TNG. If I continue to review four episodes every weekend, I should finish at about the same time I finish Boy Meets World. But by then there’ll probably be even more episodes to review. Maybe I’ll never finish. I’ll be 50 and still be doing Degrassi reviews. Degrassi becomes the longest-running show in history.

Girl Meets World: Well the first season hasn’t even aired, so no clue when I’ll be finished reviewing that series. I think probably October will mark the end of season 1, unless they air Girl Meets World like Phineas and Ferb which is STILL in its fourth season that began in 2012. It doesn’t even have a huge number of episodes, they just air like three new episodes and then nothing for months.

So since, bizarrely, I’m currently set to finish reviewing these shows all around the same time, I’m wondering… what would I do after I finish? Do I just end the blog, never to post again? Do I cover other teen-oriented shows that are silly but sometimes cover Issues? I’m thinking doing a comparison blog of different shows featuring a group of friends living in New York could be interesting. Or comparing shows featuring a childless couple living in New York. Or comparing shows featuring working-class women whose family’s are all kind of screwed up.

I’m definitely leaning towards either more stupid teen shows or “friends in New York” shows, because hopefully in two years time I’ll have gotten over how boring and tired I think Friends is now (it’s just seeing the same jokes so many times not only on other shows, but on multiple viewings of Friends, I’m just bored with it), and how angry I am at How I Met Your Mother for basically the entire second half of the show.

But that’s me, thinking so far ahead into the future for no good reason. For one thing, I probably won’t even finish all these shows in two years because I don’t know if I can actually handle doing four episodes of Degrassi every weekend for two years. It’s sort of exhausting. It would sure be awesome if I was getting paid to do anything of this, but, alas, no.

In other news, I have a long-neglected Ghost Hunters blog that I’m planning on going back to updating soon. I think it’s too much to ask that I update that weekly in addition to reviewing the six episodes I do every week on this blog, but if you like Ghost Hunters, or hate it, check it out? I just recap what happens and count off the number of things they dismiss as either having a rational explanation or not being good enough evidence (pretty much any time there’s an “orb” on the cameras they dismiss it as insufficient evidence, for instance), versus the number of times they’re convinced it was some sort of spook what done caused the disturbance.

Well, that’s it. Here’s to over 300 more posts to make in the next 2 years!

Oh here’s a couple updates: I changed the site’s theme AGAIN. Unfortunately it has endless scrolling, which I hate, but I think it still works better the way it is now if you’re trying to archive binge or whatever.

Also it seems like if I did feel there was a need/want to release these posts as a book, the screenshots would all have to come out. Screenshots are a very iffy item on the “fair use” copyright scale. I think I could probably get away with one or two small screenshots per review if this were in a book I was charging money for, but I certainly couldn’t have the book filled with the 10-20 screenshots per episode this blog has. I still think it would be kind of funny if I replaced all the screenshots with drawings, because I believe that would be 100% legal as long as it was obvious it was a drawing and not a tracing or just some Photoshop filters.

And finally, I’m not sure anyone was curious about this, but I’m planning on reviewing The Glee Project in between seasons 2 and 3, and 3 and 4, of Glee. I don’t imagine those will end up being very involved reviews, so I might be able to crank them out pretty fast. Either way, the estimated completion time for the Glee reviews is going to be somewhere around two years and 5 months now (or even longer), instead of 2 years, 3 months.

Leave a Reply

